This event has completed. Join our mailing list for upcoming performances and events.

Cultural Awareness

Saturday, February 20, 2021
Through
Sunday, February 21, 2021

Dallas Black Dance Theatre will extend its Cultural Awareness performance ticket sales ​now through Sunday, Feb. 21 at 7:00pm CST/8pm EST.

Viewing access will begin on Saturday, Feb. 20 at 7:00pm CST/8pm EST and end on Sunday, Feb. 21 at 11:59pm CST/12:59am EST.

This On-Demand performance runs 45-minutes.

VIRTUAL EVENT
$30 per Household

VIRTUAL EVENT – The choreographic brilliance of the late Talley Beatty is exemplified in The Mourner’s Bench. Beatty created the solo in 1947, which portrays an emotional, spiritual struggle with social inequity in the rural South after the Civil War.

Dallas Black Dance Theatre produces a dramatic perspective on Civil Rights activism through movement, set to the musical genius of Odetta Holmes in ODETTA.  Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater Associate Artistic Director Matthew Rushing choreographed this work to pay tribute to Odetta’s musical range of folk, gospel, and blues music.

Photography by: Sharen Bradford – The Dancing Image